Day +100

happy-new-year

Freeimages.com/joseassenco

Happy New Year!  I almost can’t believe I’ve reached the 100 day mark, AND on new year’s day. The timing makes it feel even more auspicious, and hopeful. I also share my  100 day anniversary with my dad’s 60th birthday!  How’s that for some all around good cosmic juju?!

jess-hair-growth

I’m feeling good. I finished the Ganciclovir as planned, but had to return to appointments every week, just to stay on top of my blood work, making sure the CMV didn’t rear it’s head again.  My hair continues to grow, and my fingernails continue to peel as they grow out. I am STILL dealing with some nausea, but I’m mostly off of the olanzapine. I am down to meds twice a day now, and that is grrreat!

New Year’s acts as much as a time of reflection of the year past, as it does planning for the year ahead and as I consider what a year it’s been, I am filled with overwhelming gratitude for the people in my life, and some I’ve never even met.

thank-you

Freeimages.com/Daniel G

So on this, my 100 day post transplant and the 1st day of 2017, I am thankful.

Thanks to..

The hubbs. You said you knew what you were getting into when we were married late in 2015, but I can’t imagine this was on your radar for our very first year as husband and wife. You’ve been with me during the good, the bad, and the really bad in 2016. You’ve celebrated the little victories with me, and tried to soften the blows. I love you, and can’t wait to see what wonderful things 2017 has in-store for us.

Momma. You put your entire life on hold to be here to take care of me. You left your home, your job, and your community of peeps, to cook, clean, to play chauffeur, and pharmacist, and therapist, and to be on call all day every day, and through the night. I never felt alone, not once. I really don’t know what this experience would have looked like without you.

My family peeps. You sent cards, and care packages full of surprises. You came to visit, and sent emails, you said prayers and let me know that you were with me in spirit, even if you couldn’t always be with me physically. You helped keep my spirits up, even when things were (really) hard. You rallied, and I’m SO appreciative of all of it. I love you.

My friends. You also sent cards, and emails, and text messages, and Facebook messages, and I always felt like you were there if I needed you. You offered to cook meals, and shop, and you offered rides, and company when I was in the hospital. You offered to travel to where I was, and you also sent prayers, and love. My oldest, and dearest friends – you gave me the space to heal and rest with no expectation, and you also let me know you were only a phone call away. I am blessed.

My home church family.  Even though it has been many years since I have attended St.Andrews in Sudbury regularly, I was speechless at the love and caring I received.  I was included in prayers, and gifted a beautiful prayer shawl that kept me warm and surrounded by love and strength during some of those earliest (and toughest) days. I am still awed by their kindnesses.

Friends of family, friends of friends, very extended family, and strangers.  Let’s face it, 2016 felt like a bit of a train wreck. I sometimes found myself broken hearted by the violence going on around the world, and disillusioned with humanity (can you say “Trump presidency”?) but I was also deeply heartened and buoyed by the well wishes I received from relative, and complete strangers. Comments on this blog, and through other social media, and even gifts from people far away, whom I have never met, gave me renewed hope for humans on this planet.

The BMT team.  Doctors and nurses who provided loving and compassionate care. I’ve always felt like my doctors and nurses are passionate about what they are doing. They are friendly and approachable, and feel very invested in their patients. I’ve never felt like just a number.

With all of this love, how could I feel anything but uplifted, supported, and grateful. Thank you again.

5 responses to “Day +100

  • Sylvia/Ken Ransom

    Your journey proves that “life is good” even when the rough patches are as high as the Himalayas……your blog reminds me that I know more good people than bad and a lot of amazingly good caring people (aside fromTrump, hoping the damage he does can be fixed)
    Ken and I feel very blessed that you and family are part of our family……sending you wishes for renewed health, and much happiness in 2017…….much love ….Ken & Sylvia

    • Nancy Bolton

      You are absolutely amazing!
      Your blog messages are a measure of your insurmountable strength, gift of hope, courage and love to the moon!
      You are truly an inspiration to hold on in such an attitude of gratitude.
      You are my hero in 2016 and onward to 2017 and beyond.
      You are loved dear one..
      Continuing to keep you in our prayers.
      Your forever friends, close at heart. Always. Jim and Nancy B.

  • Joanne Perreault

    Happy New Year Jess to you and your family 🎉
    Always in our thoughts and prayers
    2017 will be a great year 😘🤗👍

  • Sherri Pageau

    ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ I have no words. Just love. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

  • Lisa Brankley

    Jessy we are so thankful for YOU.

Leave a Reply

